Fionntán & Bass

The bassics

I have to leave and pick up the shoppping very soon so I will make this quick.

Learning and properly, properly, studying the electric bass the past year with an excellent teacher has been a very rewarding experience. It has been quite a fatiguing experience at times too – staying up late learning scales is not really anyone's idea of fun.

But to get to a level where you can play What's Going On bassline makes it all wortwhile. I have a lot of thoughts about studying and working and having fun with this instrument week-to-week and I'd like to capture them here.

Like any good hobby, life teaches you how to learn it, and in turn the hobby teaches you how to live life. And so I hope this blog goes beyond just the bass itself and offers a place to play with writing about playing in life.